Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment

ASIN: 0393330907

Rating:
List Price: $19.95
Sale Price: $13.92
(as of 12/09/2017 09:18 UTC - Details)


Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment

"Unflinchingly illustrates the reality of life during this extraordinary moment in American history."―Dinitia Smith, The New York Times

Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the extraordinary photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga. This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Lange's stature as one of the twentieth century's greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army―the majority of which have never been published―Impounded evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. With poignancy and sage insight, nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro illuminate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps. In the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World, Impounded, with the immediacy of its photographs, tells the story of the thousands of lives unalterably shattered by racial hatred brought on by the passions of war. A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2006. 104 black-and-white photographs

Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment out of 5 based on ratings. 1 user reviews
Home Front (USA) Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment

"Unflinchingly illustrates the reality of life during this extraordinary moment in American history."―Dinitia Smith, The New York Times

Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the extraordinary photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga. This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Lange's stature as one of the twentieth century's greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army―the majority of which have never been published―Impounded evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. With poignancy and sage insight, nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro illuminate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps. In the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World, Impounded, with the immediacy of its photographs, tells the story of the thousands of lives unalterably shattered by racial hatred brought on by the passions of war. A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2006. 104 black-and-white photographs
$19.95 https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51wZoLxE7ML._SL160_.jpg
http://ww2days.com/impounded-dorothea-lange-and-the-censored-images-of-japanese-american-internment.html

WWII Chronicles book coverHistory buffs, there is good news! The Daily Chronicles of World War II is now avail­able as an ebook for $4.99 on Amazon.com. Con­taining a year’s worth of dated entries from this web­site, the ebook brings the story of this tumul­tu­ous era to life in a com­pelling, author­i­ta­tive, and suc­cinct man­ner. Fea­turing inven­tive naviga­tion aids, the ebook enables readers to instantly move for­ward or back­ward by month and date to dif­fer­ent dated entries. Simple and elegant! Click here to purchase the ebook.